Account Log In

Salisbury Trust Sportsmanship Award

Learn More


About Us
Years: 20142013201220112010

« Back


Lakeville, CT – July 15, 2013

Salisbury Trust and Wealth Advisory, a division of Salisbury Bank serves as the endowment manager of a series of individual and family funds.  Many of these are for the defined purpose of promoting post-secondary education for local students pursuing a variety of subjects.  Families and individuals who have endowed funds establish the parameters of study and of the eligible students. The following funds are awarded annually and Salisbury Trust is happy to announce this year’s winners. 

The Harry Hyatt Fund was established and funded in 1986 by an anonymous donor. This scholarship specifically benefits graduating seniors and winners are selected based on financial need, extracurricular activities and academic performance. Students may apply each year of college, as long as they maintain their academics. 

This year’s winners of the Harry Hyatt Fund are Marissa Larson, Megan Riley and Brian Saccardi, all from Housatonic Valley Regional High School in Falls Village, CT.

The Ash Scholarship Fund was established in 2008 by William (Bill) and Jean-Ellen Ash. Bill and Jean-Ellen lived in Salisbury, Connecticut for many years and Bill worked at Pfizer in Canaan, Connecticut. Although they never had children of their own they wanted to leave a legacy. Bill and Jean-Ellen both passed away in 2007. They established this trust to benefit students who live in the towns of Canaan, Lakeville and Salisbury, Connecticut. The students must demonstrate financial need, maintain a GPA of at least 2.79 and participate in extracurricular activities. The trust will grant awards to students who attend college, graduate school or vocational schools located in New England and Mid-Atlantic States only.

This year’s winners of the Ash Scholarship Fund are: Nathaniel Brooks, Qorri Dickinson, and Dylan McGarry, all from Housatonic Valley Regional High School in Falls Village, CT, and Emily Deming and Breanna Fallon from Oliver Wolcott Regional Technical High School in Torrington, CT and Peter Moon from The Hotchkiss School in Lakeville, CT.

The Evelyn Hamlin Fund is a memorial fund established after a beloved teacher in Sharon, Connecticut. This scholarship benefits students who live in the Town of Sharon and are graduating from Housatonic Valley Regional High School. The winner is selected by the faculty of Housatonic Valley Regional High School.   This scholarship may be renewed based on the student’s academic performance.

This year’s winner of the Evelyn Hamlin Fund is Grace Morse from Housatonic Valley Regional High School in Falls Village, CT.


Salisbury Bank is a full-service community bank headquartered in Lakeville, Connecticut and presently operates full service branches in Canaan, Lakeville, Salisbury and Sharon, Connecticut, South Egremont and Sheffield, Massachusetts, as well as Dover Plains and Millerton, New York.  The Bank has been serving families and businesses for over 160 years and offers a full range of consumer and business banking products and services as well as trust and investment services.

« Back